top of page

Standing Idle


I’m a little disappointed in myself. An opportunity to help someone came up, and I didn’t rise to the call. Here’s the story.

So I work now, and I usually return home barely able to move and generally fall asleep the moment I’m horizontal. Carrying heavy things up hills and stairs is probably the work for a younger person. Yet here I am.

The other night, as I crashed exhausted into bed, I was awoken by a scream. Now, living in this urban area makes for lots of night noises. But this was a scream of terror, something straight out of a Foley library for horror movie sound effects. Following came the sound of running high heels, and the sound of an argument. It was enough to make me ask Mimi if I should go check it out. I don’t remember what she said. Because exhaustion.

Next day, I learned that a woman was mugged right outside the building. Third party story: three thugs followed this woman for two or three blocks before attacking and mugging her. I don’t know the details beyond that.

On the one hand, I have no illusions that an old fat guy is in any way about to take on three thugs. Not even in a civil debate. This is not why I’m feeling bad about the whole thing.

I essentially subscribe to the Batman philosophy of criminals, that, at heart, they are a superstitious and cowardly lot. And the idea of three thugs versus one woman pretty much verifies that theory. Had I dragged my half-dead carcass out of bed to investigate, things might have gone differently.

First, old fat guy plus easy target might equal odds that would drive the thugs away, or irritated the neighbors into calling the cops. Second, if I had a cell phone, I could simply have dialed 911, or taken pictures, or something. I can’t remember if I had access to my phone. Third, and least likely, I could’ve had the tar kicked out of me or worse.

While being asleep and just barely mobile are pretty good excuses, I still feel guilty. Would it have been that hard to step into my action pants and geriatric white sneakers and limp to the sidewalk? To at least shout, “Hey!” in some raspy, somewhat authoritative voice? Honestly, that would probably have been the extent of my abilities at that point.

However, I didn’t even get that far. Not even as far as shaking my fist at the thugs. Granted, I didn’t actually know what was going on. Still, I will always wonder if getting up and taking a look might have changed the outcome of the crime. Not in any heroic sort of way, just in the concerned citizen way.

The unfortunate thing is, a similar incident will no doubt occur sometime in the future. For myself, the best thing I can hope for is to be a little more on point. Hopefully, those reading this blog might be inspired to look out the window at a scream or call for help, and try to do something to help out another human being.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page